ACEC/MO 2022 Call for Entries

Electronic Project Submission Form Submit an Entry  

Submissions:  All project submissions must be submitted online.  Deadline to submit your entry is Monday, October 25, 2021.  A check payment of $400 per project entry, must be submitted with the USB Flash Drive to the ACEC/MO office.  See the Call for Entries Brochure below for more details. 

EEA Resources

History of Engineering Excellence Competitions

In coordination with our national affiliate, ACEC, the American Council of Engineering Companies of Missouri (ACEC/MO) holds an annual project competition. Our goal is to recognize the quality engineering design that member firms can produce and tell our membership and the public about this engineering quality design.  We adopt the rules for entry that are annually dictated by ACEC. Our state deadline for project entries is in mid October, with judging in mid-November. Projects winners going on to the national competition are required to complete a panel to illustrated the projects unique features and have a deadline of early January.  A panel of judges for the ACEC/MO competition is chosen from outside the membership to carefully consider the entries. Judges are carefully considered and selected from various sectors including construction, education, architecture, government and media. Our annual awards banquet highlighting the state winners is in February either in St. Louis, Kansas City or Columbia. The ACEC award banquet is held in April in Washington, D.C.

Panel of EEA Judges

Brian Johanning
VP of Business Development
Superior Bowen

Dr. Jalil Kianfar, Ph.D., P.E.
Assoc. Professor of Civil Engineering
St. Louis University

Tony McGrail
Director of Architecture
Collins Webb Architecture

Srini Vallabhaneni
Smart Sewer Officer – Smart Sewer & Stormwater Divisions
City of Kansas City, Missouri

Bruce Wylie
Retired – ACEC/MO President & CEO

J.T. Yarnell
Retired – Missouri Department of Transportation


2021-22 Engineering Excellence Committee

Rob Krewson, Co-Chair, Alfred Benesch & Company
Tawn Nugent, Co-Chair, TREKK Design Group, LLC
Marc Alper
, Alper Audi, Inc.

Mike Banashek, Horner & Shifrin, Inc.
Rick Bennett
, Wood Environment & Infrastructure, Inc.
Jerry Bollinger, Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc.
Todd Chandler
, Cribb Philbeck Weaver Group (CPWG)
Kelley Davis, Lochmueller Group
Michele Keal, Alfred Benesch & Company
Maria King, Lochmueller Group
Mike Odrowski, CDM Smith
Andrew Potthast, HDR, Inc.
Jeff Smith, HNTB Corporation
Todd Thalmann, TranSystems Corporation
Todd Welz, Quigg Engineering, Inc.
Danette Yun, Quigg Engineering, Inc.
John Zimmerman, TranSystems Corporation